Current Legislation

 

CURRENT ADVOCACY ISSUES

Wisconsin school leaders are in the process of making very difficult decisions as they implement their plans for the 2020-2021 school year.  Wisconsin K-12 Advocacy Partners are asking the legislature and the Governor to consider these temporary statutory changes for the 2020-2021 school year to support school leaders.

 

LEGISLATIVE SUPPORTING INFORMATION

The 2019-2021 Wisconsin State Legislative Session brings some anticipated and many unanticipated legislative policy opportunities to our attention.  The SWSA takes positions on some of the key legislative items and will track these positions for our members.   The SWSA Bill Tracker document can be viewed here:  SWSA Bill Tracker

SWSA also encourages members to utilize the Wisconsin Association of School Boards (WASB) bill tracking feature on their website to find all current legislation that is active in both the Wisconsin Assembly and the Senate.   The link to WASB's state bill tracking chart can be found at:  WASB State Bill Tracking Chart

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION FOR SWSA MEMBERS

  • Recommendations of the Blue Ribbon Commission on School Funding (1_4_19)
  • Joint Finance Committee Members Email Addresses
    • Sen.Darling@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Rep.Nygren@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Rep.Loudenbeck@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Sen.Olsen@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Rep.Goyke@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Rep.Katsma@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Rep.Rohrkaste@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Rep.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Rep.Zimmerman@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Sen.Erpenbach@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Sen.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Sen.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Sen.Marklein@legis.wi.gov
    • Sen.Stroebel@legis.wisconsin.gov
    • Sen.Tiffany@legis.wisconsin.gov

Written comments can also be emailed to the Joint Finance committee at BudgetComments@legis.wisconsin.gov or sent via U.S. mail to:  Joe Malkasian, Room 305 East, State Capitol, Madison, WI 53702.