Member School Districts

The SWSA is an organization comprised of 31 regionally local public schools joined together through a 66.0301 Cooperative Agreement.

Membership in the SWSA consists of both school district administrators and school board members.  From an advocacy perspective, this makes SWSA uniquely qualified to work together with policymakers to advocate for sound public education policies.

District membership is comprised of K-8’s, Union High Schools, and K-12 school districts from a variety of geographic settings in Southeastern Wisconsin including urban, suburban, and western rural Waukesha County.

SWSA member benefits include:

  • Regional advocacy efforts guided by a well-informed legislative liaison in Madison
  • Serves as a conduit to bring community members to policy makers
  • Collaborative advocacy opportunities and regional strength of messaging with SWSA members
  • Well-developed position papers and talking points to articulate messages when advocating
  • Research to support district decision-making
  • Monthly membership meetings often hosting exceptional speakers

SWSA members receive frequent communication from their Executive Director and also meet monthly for a meeting held at the Elmbrook District Offices. These meetings often feature a guest speaker and member districts are encouraged to bring additional staff and board members to attend. Over the past few years speakers have included:

  • Governor Walker
  • Senator Darling, Co-Chair of the Joint Finance Committee
  • Senator Olsen, Chair of the Senate Education Committee
  • Representative Thiesfeldt, Chair of the Assembly Education Committee
  • Representative Vos, Speaker of the Assembly
  • Tony Evers, State Superintendent
  • Jeff Pertl, Senior Policy Analyst, Department of Public Instruction
  • Alan Borsuk, Senior Fellow in Law and Public Policy, Marquette Law School
  • Charles Franklin, Professor of Law and Public Policy and Director of the Marquette Law School Poll